Kamm and Raiford Appointed to Florida Bar Committees

Shook, Hardy & Bacon Tampa Associates Cathy Kamm and Anitra Raiford will join committees of The Florida Bar. Kamm is joining the Judicial Nominating Procedures Committee, and Raiford will continue to serve her three-year term on the Federal Court Practice Committee. Their three-year terms respectively begin and continue on July 1, 2016.

The Judicial Nominating Procedures Committee provides training to judicial nominating commissioners, advises commissioners of legislation related to the judiciary and judicial selection process, and suggests rules and procedures helpful for the commission and process.

The Federal Court Practice Committee serves as the Bar’s liaison to the federal courts, federal bar organizations in Florida, the 11th Circuit Judicial Conference and others interested in federal practice. The group publishes the Guide to Judicial Practices in Florida’s Federal Courts as well.

Kamm defends companies in complex product liability and tort matters, with experience in state and federal courts throughout Florida. Before joining Shook in 2009, Kamm served as an assistant state attorney in the Fourth Judicial Circuit of Florida. Her extensive community, pro bono and professional involvement includes serving as an attorney ad litem with Crossroads for Florida Kids, holding several leadership roles with The Junior League of Tampa, serving on the South Tampa YMCA Advisory Board, and previously serving as a Florida Young Lawyers Division National Delegate to the American Bar Association.

Raiford’s diverse litigation practice covers complex matters in commercial, product liability and tort matters. Before joining Shook in 2015, she served as a judicial law clerk to two federal district judges: the Hon. Stephan P. Mickle, Northern District of Florida, and the Hon. Sheri Polster Chappell, Middle District of Florida. With the Florida Bar, Raiford has served as a Young Lawyers Division/Law Students Division Mentor since 2014 and was also a member of the 2015-2016 class of the William Reece Smith, Jr. Leadership Academy.