Shook Named Product Liability Defense Firm of the Year

Who’s Who Legal - The International Who’s Who of Business has named Shook, Hardy & Bacon as the Product Liability Defense Firm of the Year for 2020. For more than 15 years, Shook is the only firm to receive this award since Who’s Who Legal created the category. Shook Partners Alicia Donahue and Hildy Sastre are the co-chairs of the Product Liability Litigation Practice Group.

Based on a six-month independent research process, the award recognizes lawyers and law firms that are considered preeminent in the field by their peers and general counsel in the business community. Firms from 48 countries and 50 U.S. states are considered for the honors.

Who’s Who Legal lists the following Shook attorneys as authorities in product liability defense.

Firm Chair Madeleine McDonough is recognized for excellence, Whos Who Legal stating that she “is commended for her brilliant work on such issues as pharmaceutical and environmental litigation.” 

Mark Behrens is mentioned as an attorney who “gains plaudits as ‘a national leader in tort reform’ and is highlighted for his profound expertise in product liability law and defense litigation proceedings.”

Alicia Donahue earned praise with the note that she “is applauded for her superb work representing clients within the medical device and pharmaceutical sectors on a wide range of product liability proceedings.”

Michelle Fujimoto is noted as “excellent” and “well known for her strong practice, which sees her represent clients on issues concerning pharmaceutical and medical device claims.”

Michael Healy is said to gain “recognition for his considerable and impressive experience as a trial lawyer, enabling a highly accomplished practice.”

Frank Rothrock is described as receiving “vociferous praise for representing clients on complex matters such as pharmaceutical and medical device product litigation.”

William Sampson is recognized as “a seasoned practitioner, widely known for his outstanding work on product liability and commercial class actions proceedings.”

Scott Sayler is noted as “an extremely experienced litigator with over 30 years’ experience of high-value disputes in the life sciences, pharmaceutical and medical device sectors.”

In addition, the following partners and of counsel were noted for their excellence in Product Liability Defense and Life Sciences Product Liability Defense.

Rob Adams
Eric Anielak
Andrew Carpenter
William Crampton
Sarah Croft
Eben Flaster
Gregory Fowler
Darolyn Hamada
Matthew Keenan
Robert Limbacher
Alison Newstead
Kenneth Reilly
Victor Schwartz
Samuel Sebree II
Jon Strongman
Sean Wajert
Paul Williams

Shook partners noted by Who’s Who Legal in other practice areas include the following attorneys.

John BarkettEnvironment; Litigation - E-Discovery Lawyers
Bill MartucciLabor & Employment 
Patrick Oot—Litigation - E-Discovery Lawyers