As a leader in the delivery of pro bono legal services, Shook, Hardy & Bacon provides approximately 30,000 hours of free legal counsel on an annual basis, donating its expertise and resources to communities across the United States. In recent years, Shook attorneys have assisted unaccompanied minors in immigration proceedings, staffed legal clinics and advocated on behalf of disabled individuals. These pro bono and community service efforts reflect the firm’s dedication to representing the under-served in matters as diverse in nature and scope as the attorneys who handle them.

To institutionalize this ongoing commitment, Shook has appointed a full-time pro bono staff to administer the program's day-to-day activities.

“I subscribe to the belief that each human life should be judged not by its duration but by its donation. Each of us is duty bound to make our community, our state and our nation a little bit better by our presence.”  (Charles L. Bacon) 

Pro Bono Committee

Scot Fishman -
Director of Pro Bono (Chair)

Hal Arteaga
Josh Becker
Scott Chesin
Michael Cromwell 
Cecilia Bidwell
John Constance
Melissa Nott Davis
Brent Dwerlkotte
Charlie Eblen
Kelly Feimster
Caroline Gieser
Steve Hansen
Madison Hatten
Janet Hickson
Claire Hillman
Liz Hutchinson 
Scott James
Jeanne Janchar
Chris Johnson
Kerry Manning
Elena McFarland
Anna Maria Merritt
Alison Newstead
Vanessa Offutt
Mary Olson
Terri Parker
Megan Roth
Russell Shankland
Cary Silverman
Gabriel Spooner
Dana Strueby
David Suroff
Adam Tolin
Jesus Torres
Matthew Wolfe
Kylene Campbell
Berna Cosner
Kathy Hoffman
Rhonda Hoffman
Corrine Paschal 
Doris Retzlaff
Darren Thomas