Shook "Lawyer of the Year" and Seasoned Professionals Compose Best Lawyers 2021 Rankings

Best Lawyers® selected 68 Shook attorneys for inclusion in its 2021 edition, including Firm Chair Madeleine McDonough chosen for FDA Law. Best Lawyers selected Partner James Muehlberger as a “Lawyer of the Year,” in Mass Torts Litigation/Class Action Defendants, Kansas City.

New this year – “Ones to Watch,” created to showcase up and coming attorneys. Twenty Shook associates were selected for this honor in a variety of areas from product liability to commercial litigation, serving the firm's health, science and technology clients.

Best Lawyers, a peer-reviewed directory, selected the following Shook attorneys for their high level of respect and professionalism.


  • Joshua Becker (Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants, Product Liability Litigation-Defendants)



  • Hugh Abrams (Litigation - Intellectual Property, Patent Law)
  • Gary Elden (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Insurance Law, Litigation - Mergers and Acquisitions, Litigation – Securities)
  • John McCambridge (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Antitrust)
  • Gary Miller (Commercial Litigation)
  • Lynn Murray (Insurance Law)
  • David Schoenfeld (Insurance Law)



  • Sharon Israel (Litigation – Intellectual Property, Litigation – Patent, Patent Law)

Kansas City

  • Robert Adams (Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • Mark Anstoetter (Litigation – Environmental, Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants)
  • Walt Cofer (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • Christopher Cotton (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • David Erickson (Environmental Law, Litigation – Environmental, Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants)
  • Tom Grever (Environmental Law, Litigation – Environmental)
  • Sandra Hawley (Real Estate Law)
  • Justin Johl (Litigation - Labor and Employment)
  • Matthew Keenan (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • Patrick Lujin (Litigation - Intellectual Property, Litigation – Patent)
  • Jim Muehlberger (Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants)
  • Joseph Rebein (Commercial Litigation)
  • Bill Sampson (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Banking and Finance, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants) 
  • Terry Satterlee (Litigation – Environmental)
  • Scott Sayler (Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants)
  • Jamie Thompson (Litigation – Environmental)
  • David Thorne (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • Gene Voigts (Commercial Litigation)
  • Trent Webb (Litigation - Intellectual Property)


Irvine (Orange County, California)


  • Eben Flaster (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • Thomas Goutman (Product Liability Litigation- Defendants)
  • Robert Limbacher (Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants, Product Liability Litigation-Defendants)
  • Sean Wajert (Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants, Product Liability Litigation-Defendants)
  San Francisco
  • Alicia Donahue (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • Michael Healy (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • Tammy Webb (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
  • Wayne Wolff (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)



Washington, D.C.